Kalibo, Aklan 2015: My First Solo Travel Experience

The trip was on a weekend in January 2015. The original plan was to go during the Ati-Atihan festival weekend, but I soon found out after booking my ticket that I got the wrong date–I booked one week ahead of the Ati Atihan celebration! With the booking made, I decided to pursue the trip and to just make the most of it. And I’d say it was a successful one, truly an experience to remember.

Kalibo, Aklan town proper

Kalibo town proper

This was my itinerary:

Day 0: Arrival in Kalibo late at night (after work)

Day 1:  Sampaguita Gardens (AM) | Bakhawan Eco Park (PM) | City exploration (late afternoon)

Day 2: Jawili Falls, Jawili Beach, Agfa Point (AM) | City exploration (PM)

Day 3: Departure to Manila

ati-atihan-kalibo

My goal for the said trip was to simply see new places, gain new experiences, and perhaps meet new people along the way–and to accomplish all these within a limited budget. My set budget was Php5000, not including the airfare.

I stayed in a women’s dorm. Tried new food. Joined a crowd of locals and danced zumba in an open park. Got a face paint. Joined a procession and chanted ‘Hala Bira!’ with the crowd. Met locals and other tourists. Did a lot of walking. And discovered interesting places.

The trip was memorable in that it gave me the right mix of the planned and the unplanned. Some portions were part of a carefully planned itinerary; the others were spontaneous, on-the-spot decisions based on gut-feel and on what felt right at the moment. It was truly an awesome experience.

Leave a Reply

