Embarcadero de Legazpi: Things to See and Do

embarcadero-legazpi

Embarcadero de Legazpi is one of the rather new attractions in the city, an ideal destination for those who want to relax by the bay after a day of shopping and exploration. It’s a waterfront entertainment hub located in the port of Legapi, providing a view of the sea with the Mayon Volcano in the background.

Below are some of the activities you can try when you’re in Embarcadero:

embarcadero

Shop and Dine. Embarcadero is actually a large mall that houses different shops, boutiques, and restaurants to satisfy your shopping cravings and your hunger. Just walk around and you’re bound to find something to take home with you.

Stroll Around and Take Plenty of Photos. Whether it’s the sea, the Mayon Volcano in the background, or the giant letters forming the work EMBARCADERO by the mall’s entrance, there are plenty of picture-friendly spots around this place. Bring your camera or simply allow your eyes to feast on the scenery.

Ride the Zipline. Who doesn’t love ziplines? The one in Embarcadero amps up the excitement level not only because of the Mayon Volcano in the background but also because the 350-meter zipline runs above the sea. Just climb the 30-meter lighthouse, prepare to launch, and fly above the water while enjoying the scenic view of Mayon from afar.

Try Go Carting. If flying isn’t your idea of fun, then maybe speeding on the tracks is. You can enjoy a few laps navigating wide turns and sharp bends, and put your driving skills to the test, with this activity.

Nightlife. There isn’t much nightlife to speak of in the Embarcadero mall, but nearby is the Boulevard that is lined with bars and restaurants for those who want a night out with family or friends.

I have to admit that I haven’t tried the last 3 items above yet. I have only been to Embarcadero de Legazpi a few times when I was still in Bicol, and my visits were always with a ‘practical’ purpose. It’s the same thing with many of the tourist destinations in my hometown (see my post HERE)–I haven’t really thought of them the same way I think about the places that are  not readily accessible to me, the places I visit as a tourist. It’s just different.

I’m not sure if this is a common dilemma among travelers–we often overlook the places closest to us, probably because they’ve always been there, and we have become, to a certain extent, blind to them. I guess I have to be a sort of tourist the next time I visit Embarcadero so I can have the mindset to try all the activities it offers.

How about you? Do you experience the same thing when it comes to ‘touristy’ places in your own hometown? Or have you explored every nook and corner of your hometown?

Leave a Reply

